Make your own free website on Tripod.com



BUGS, GLITCHES & GREMLINS:
PC Annoyances and
How To Keep Them From
Driving You Crazy




Recommended Links from the 11/24/03 Workshop

(Online at http://eslny.tripod.com/gremlins1.htm
and http://eslny.tripod.com/gremlins1.pdf)


  

               I.      First Things First: Before You Do Anything Else

a.       Protect Your PC (firewall, updates and antivirus check tool) from Microsoft - http://www.microsoft.com/security/protect/ 

b.       Windows Update - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp

c.       MS Office Update - http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/default.aspx?CTT=98

             II.      How to Stop Pop-Ups in under 3 Minutes

a.       Google Toolbar for Internet Explorer – http://toolbar.google.com

b.       Ad-Aware Software (free) - http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

c.       Disabling Windows Messenger Pop-Up Spam - http://www.internetprivacyfordummies.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Sections&file=index&req=viewarticle&artid=27&page=1

d.       Zone Alarm Firewall (free) - http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/company/products/znalm/freeDownload.jsp

            III.      Email Spam and Keeping It under Control

a.       You’ve Got Spam! - http://familyinternet.about.com/cs/email/a/aaspam.htm

b.       How to Avoid Unwanted E-Mail - http://www.cyberwalker.net/columns/jan01/250101.html

c.       Spam Slayer: Hot Tips to Cool off Spam - http://www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,112876,00.asp

d.       Using Disposable Email Addresses - http://email.about.com/cs/spamfightingtips/a/et081102.htm?terms=stop+spam

e.       The Anti-Spam Home Page - http://www.arachnoid.com/lutusp/antispam.html

f.         Outlook Spam Tutorial -
http://www.sitedeveloper.ws/tutorials/spam.htm

g.       How to Use Netscape 7.1 Junk Mail Controls - http://www.bu.edu/sargent/irc/documents/junkmail.html

h.       Fight Spam on the Internet - http://spam.abuse.net/ 

          IV.      Protecting Your PC from Viruses

a.       Symantec Security Response - http://securityresponse.symantec.com/ 

b.       Zone Alarm Firewall (free) - http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/company/products/znalm/freeDownload.jsp

            V.      Virus Hoaxes vs. Real Threats to Take Seriously

a.       Hoaxbusters - http://hoaxbusters.ciac.org/ 

b.       How to Spot a Virus Hoax - http://vmyths.com/resource.cfm?id=19&page=1

c.       Urban Legends Reference Pages: Computer Virus Hoaxes - http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/virus.htm

d.       Hoax Encyclopedia - http://antivirus.about.com/library/hoaxes/blenhoax.htm?terms=virus+hoax

          VI.      Understanding and Fixing Warning/Error Messages

a.       Most Popular How-To Columns - http://www.cyberwalker.net/faqs/how-tos/how-tos.html

b.       Microsoft Knowledge Database - http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=fh;EN-US;KBHOWTO 

c.       Annoyances.org - http://www.annoyances.org/

d.       Tech Support Guy - http://www.helponthe.net/

e.       Computing.net Tech Support - http://www.computing.net/

         VII.      Fun Stuff and Incredibly Useful Online Tools: A Sampling

a.       Net Lingo - http://www.netlingo.com/

b.       File Formats - http://www.stack.com/file/extension/index.html

c.       Kim Komando -  http://www.komando.com/

d.       Yahoo! Picks - http://picks.yahoo.com/picks/ 

 

e.       Bartleby.com - http://www.bartleby.com/ 

f.         Project Gutenberg - http://promo.net/pg/

g.       Ref Desk - http://www.refdesk.com/facts.html

h.       One Look Dictionary List - http://onelook.com/browse.shtml

i.         CIA World Factbook - http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/

j.         US State Dept. Travel Warnings - http://travel.state.gov/travel_warnings.html

k.       CDC Traveler’s Health Info - http://www.cdc.gov/travel/

l.         New York State Physician Profile - http://www.nydoctorprofile.com/welcome.jsp

m.     Zip Code Lookup -  http://www.usps.com/zip4/welcome.htm

n.       Reverse Phone Number Lookup -  http://www.anywho.com/rl.html

o.       Metric - English Conversions - http://www.psinvention.com/zoetic/convert.htm

p.       Any Birthday -  http://www.anybirthday.com/ 

q.       Dead or Alive? - http://www.dead-or-alive.org/dead.nsf/pages/main

 

r.        Craig’s List - http://newyork.craigslist.org/

s.       Epinions Reviews - http://www.epinions.com

t.        Google Groups - http://www.google.com/grphp

u.       Yahoo! Groups – http://groups.yahoo.com/

v.        eHow  Tutorials - http://ehow.com/home/home.jsp

w.      Learn That Tutorials - http://www.learnthat.com/default.asp

x.       Wanna Learn Tutorials - http://www.wannalearn.com/

y.       Expert Buying Guides from PC World -http://www.pcworld.com/howto/index/0,00.asp

z.       My Simon -  http://www.mysimon.com

aa.   Shopping.com  -  http://www.shopping.com/

bb.   JourneyEd Academic Software Discounts – http://www.journeyed.com/

cc.   SprySoft Academic Software Discounts - http://www.sprysoft.com/shop/

dd.   AddALL Book Search and Price Comparison - http://www.addall.com/

ee.   Half.com – http://www.half.com

ff.       Theater Development Fund – http://www.tdf.org/

gg.   Site 59: Last Minute Travel Deals- http://www.site59.com/

hh.   Go-today.com: Last Minute Travel Deals - http://www.go-today.com/

ii.       LastMinuteTravel.com - http://www.lastminutetravel.com/

jj.       Free Stuff Online - http://www.thefreesite.com/

       VIII.      “What’s Bugging You?”: A Search for Solutions